Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have finished this book about 2 weeks ago and I haven’t written a review till’ now which is really embarrassing considering that I did nothing all the time, I was just too lazy.

I think that by now all of you know how much I LOVE Sarah J. Maas and the Throne of Glass series because the first two book were absolutely STUNNING. Too bad, this wasn’t, though. 

I found the first part and maybe also the first part of the second part (???) so damn boring. In the first part we don’t get to see the bad ass Celaena we love, we get to see her emotional part. Going to Wendlyn and “meeting” het family was just part rediscovering herself, of learning not to hide her true self. So I think that was a big part in her character development.

One thing I particularly didn’t like was the introduction of new characters. Especially the Manon’s storyline. I couldn’t care less about what she did, even though I really appreciated her bonding with Abraxos, which reminded me a little bit of Daenerys and Drogo (Game of Thrones). I really liked Aedion though, especially when at the end he said “All of you monsters can burn in hell. Because my queen is coming and she will spike you to the walls of your gods-damned castle. And I can’t wait to help her gut you like the pigs you are.” I mean, hell yeah swagness runs in the Ashryvers blood.

I was really into Dorian and Sorscha even thought the ship sunk at the end (I cried). One “couple” I really didn’t like was Rowan and Celaena/Aelin. I mean, c’mon! She changes man in every book. At first Dorian, then Chaol (I’m still hoping for it t happen) and now Rowan? I mean I get that she is stunningly beautiful and all that but how does every man she encounters fall in love with her? Tell me you secret, Aelin. Is it that you use  for your incredibly silky hair or that your bad-assery seems to petrify everyone? Anyway, I really hope that in Queen of Shadow she returns to Chaol and everything is going to be fine.

I almost cried when this happened “He looked at his friend, perhaps for the last time, and said what he always had known, from the moment they’d met, when he’d understood that the prince was his brother in soul. “I love you” ” I was really proud of him when he finally picked a side.

I think this book was more about friendship than love, which I really appreciated but I found that it lacked of the amazing epicness the first two were full of. Through the whole book I was just noticing how this seems like a bridge, like a filling-in. The first 500 pages were just the calm before the storm. I really hope the fourth will be better.

MY RATING: 3.5 OUT OF 5 STARS. 



If you guys liked this review, make sure to click the like/reblog button and/or write in the comment what YOU think about this book.

You can also read my reviews on my Goodreads account. Just click the Goodreads bar at the lift side of my blog. You cant also follow me on Twitter: @irmaskk

Byee, Irma